Admin

ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)

Flag Coved GlobeThe mission of Owings Mills High School ESOL Program is to assist non-native speakers of English in acquiring sufficient language proficiency and independent learning strategies to become successful participants in high school and beyond.   The ESOL program will serve as a support system for the ELL until he/she is able to achieve independent academic success. This education will be provided in such a way that values each student’s home language and ensures that each student maintains a sense of pride in his/her native culture.

 

The ESOL Program is committed to sustaining instructional excellence through collaborative professional support, continuous monitoring of ESOL Program curricula and student services, and integration of appropriate educational technology into learning and instruction.

We are OM

 Department Members & Their Courses Include:

 

Margarita Ugarte-Caffyn, ESOL Program Facilitator, mugartecaffyn@bcps.org ESOL American Government           

Rebecca Alvarado, ESOL Department Chair, ralvarado@bcps.org Academic Foundations, ESOL AVID 9

Natalia Florez, Bilingual Paraprofessional, nfloreztobon@bcps.org

Kayla Franze, kfranze@bcps.org American Culture, EFL 1, EFL 2

Christine Gover, cgover@bcps.org, LTL, Newcomer

Amber Hengen, ahengen@bcps.org Academic Foundations, American Culture, EFL 2

Katie Kennedy, kkennedy@bcps.org ESOL American Government, ESOL Math/Algebra 1

Xueling Lu, xlu@bcps.org Keyboarding

Emily Martin, edonaldson@bcps.org EFL 1, ESOL American Government

Shannon Mullaney, smullaney@bcps.org Newcomer, ESOL AVID 10

Shannon Olsen, solsen2@bcps.org ESOL English 9, ESOL English 11

Irida Ruci, iruci@bcps.org ESOL Math

Ismail Saed, isaed@bcps.org LTL, EFL 3

Nancy Widney, nwidney@bcps.org, ESOL English 10, Newcomer

Lydia Yoon, lyoon@bcps.org ESOL Career Strategies, ESOL Health, Academic Foundations